Wishmaster (1997)

Wishmaster

Genre: Horror

Cast: Robert Englund and a shitload of actors I have never seen or heard of

Summary: A powerful and evil entity known as a djinn is released from his prison inside a jewel and seeks to claim the soul of the woman who discovered him.

Wes Craven certainly has put his name on a lot of shit. No doubt, he is one of the greatest horror directors and writers still alive today and I’m not saying his reputation as a “master of horror” is undeserved. But for every Scream and A Nightmare on Elm Street that he makes you also get things like My Soul to Take and Dracula 2000. By all accounts, his filmography and projects is mixed, which is why I approached Wishmaster with some trepidation…especially when I found out the movie is about an evil genie.

GenieOne not quite as gay as Jafar

I’ll start things off by saying that genies are seriously underrepresented in movies, even in the horror genre. While I appreciate that an effort was made to make a film about an evil genie for diversity purposes, the end product was so campy that Wishmaster stopped functioning as a horror movie a good 15 minutes into the movie. Rather than going for “jump out your seat” moments, Wishmaster largely relies on its story to provide its scares. Unfortunately there’s nothing all that scary about a monster granting people’s wishes in a fucked up way. Similarly, there’s nothing all that terrifying about gore and when the wishes backfire in gruesome ways you just find yourself wishing that the main character would just figure out a way to stop it all so you can watch something else.

One thing I always appreciate in horror movie is the appearance of Robert Englund. That man must have made so much money from cameo appearances in horror movies. Then again, he’s not very good at telling the difference between a good and a bad horror film either. I saw him quite recently in the crappy version of The Phantom of the Opera. God that was terrible. It had an 80s Molly Shannon in it. Still, Englund put in more effort in that film than he did Wishmaster but I worry that he’ll never come upon a role as unique and terrifying as Freddy Krueger. Or one that inspires terrible 80s rap…

I wish I could give you more details about this movie but, to be honest, I was pretty bored with this one. It just didn’t grab me or thrill me in the way I was hoping it too. On top of that, the special effects in this film are terrible. Nothing ruins a horror movie quite like poor special effects because it removes you from the tense atmosphere. It’s a shame that the Baked Movie Review Halloween Roundup has to end in such a disappointing way but there’s always next year to plan ahead for

High-lights:

  • It’s rare to see a movie about a genie. Finger snaps for diversity.
  • Robert Englund.

Downers:

  • Surprisingly boring and virtually no reasons to develop an interest in any of the characters.
  • Poor special effects.

Summary:

I would recommend avoiding this one, largely because it is boring. If you’re desperate to watch a Wes Craven film this Halloween then make it a good one. There are lots of great ones to choose from. There are also a lot of disappointing ones to choose from so make sure you do your research first.

3/10

6 Comments

Filed under Crap, Horror

6 responses to “Wishmaster (1997)

  1. Aw, man, it’s too bad you didn’t dig this one. I really like it. I agree, evil genies are underused, and I also agree about it not being scary. It’s definitely not scary at all, but my enjoyment comes from the ridiculous things that happen. I get a lot of genuine laughs out of it, like when he tries to enter a building but the security guard tells him to turn around a keep walking, so he’s forced to. If you want to see a truly, truly terrible Wishmaster movie, watch the 2nd one. I just found out they’re up to #4, but I don’t know if I’ll ever get that far without being tricked into it.

  2. Oh, just in case you were wondering, in the 2nd one, he shoves a guy’s head up his own ass. And they somehow managed to make it not funny.

Leave a Reply

