The Godfather (1972)

Godfather_ver1

Genre: Drama

Cast: Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan, Diane Keaton

Synopsis: A strangely operatic film which follows the trials and tribulations of a mafia family.

There are some films that are supposedly so good that I have deliberately held off from watching them. It’s not because I’m worried that I will be disappointed. It’s because I am waiting for the perfect moment. If I watch all the best movies at once then I will have nothing to look forward to. All my reviews would be for things like Beautiful Creatures or Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters if that were the case which would demolish my soul. I finally decided that the time had come for me to take the plunge and watch what is widely regarded as one of the best films in the history of cinema. Fortunately, I was not disappointed.

The funny thing about The Godfather is that it doesn’t really play out like a typical film. It felt much more like a cinematic and grandiose opera. It’s what I like to call “a highly stylized fuck show opera.” By “fuck show opera” I mean that the whole way through the movie I was like “Fuck! This family be cray but in a Shakespearean kind of way.” The drama in this film is so hyperbolic and surreal that it becomes a real shock to the system to learn that this sort of stuff did actually happen and that vendettas and blood-feuds existed beyond 18th century Verona. I can thankfully say that I have no connections to the mafia and thank Christ for that because these guys are seriously messed in the head…but at the same time in a kind of beautiful, rugged and passionate Italian kind of way.

One thing that took me by surprise was how I came to care about the characters, especially considering that most of them are psychopathic murderers. However, there was something oddly noble and romantic about the family unit….and Al Pacino was surprisingly attractive in this film…and we also know Marlon Brando was the ultimate fox back in the day. It was odd to see such a romanticised portrayal of a mafia family (especially considering that I am used to Scorsese’s mafia films which contain more grit and seediness) but I had to admit that I liked the simplicity of the family drama.

Having said that, this film’s plot itself is pretty complex and there are a fuck ton of characters with difficult sounding names so you have to be on your game to remember it all. Unfortunately, I had taken a sativa heavy strain so I was focusing on all the beautiful cinematography and tackily decorated houses so I got kind of lost with the plot. I caught up eventually but at one point in the film I wondered if it was chronicling an east coast/west coast mafia rap war and I began to think: “Who Biggie?” Fortunately, the possibility of coastal mafia rap war diminished once the horse’s head appeared in the bed (a totally brilliant scene).

All in all, The Godfather really deserves its stellar reputation and I can’t recommend it highly enough. My only regret is that I will now have to wait ages before I can see The Godfather Part II. I think I’ll skip the third one though; as much as I love Sofia Coppola as a director, she can’t act for shit.

High-lights:

  • Engrossing and captivating story.
  • The scenes in Sicily were so beautiful. Even when the car blew up I was like: “Damn, it’s still a beautiful way to go.”
  • The scene where Diane Keaton’s character realises she is at a mafia wedding. Her face was like: “Oh….shit.”
  • “Leave the gun – take the cannoli.”

Downers:

  • Complex.

Summary:

The Godfather is pretty much the perfect film. Like 2001: A Space Odyssey, The Godfather is more like a piece of beautiful cinematic art. However, it’s a freaking long and complex movie. As such, I recommend that you watch this movie after taking a hit of an indica heavy strain. The movie itself is naturally captivating so getting couch-lock won’t be much of a bother. However, if you want to appreciate the film’s beauty, then by all means go with a sativa but just try not to confuse the characters and wonder which one is the Italian-American Biggie Smalls or Tupac.

10/10

15 Comments

Filed under Drama, Mind Blowingly Awesome

15 responses to “The Godfather (1972)

  1. Abbi

    Ah couch-lock… It’s been so many years since I experienced that phenomenon. But yes, Godfather, brilliant.

  2. 100% agreed. Amazing film, even if you’re out of it whilst watching. You should watch the rest of the trilogy for sure!

  3. Tom

    lol great review of a classic. I’m going to go ahead and be brave and say it: I haven’t seen this.

  4. Brilliant! Glad you finally watched (and loved) this. I admit that I’m now trying to watch as many “good” films as I can but the hubby keeps telling me to slow down or I’ll run out of the classics too soon. Hope you don’t wait TOO long to watch The Godfather II, though. 😉 (I’ve not bothered with the 3rd).

  5. I couldn’t get over the scene with Sonny at the toll-booth for weeks! That scene was one of the most heart-wrenching movie experiences ever for me.

  6. My sister has a MASSIVE crush on 1970s Al Pacino; it’s a real shame he is now what he is, reduced to films like Jack and Jill. I’m happy he’s at least making a comeback in f’d up biopics like that of Phil Spector and Jack Kevorkian.

    Godfather Part II was just a tad complex for my liking. I like difficult movies in general, but Godfather Part II was a little much for me. Still a very good movie, but somehow the original movie was generally a lot more memorable.

    I have not seen Godfather Part III, and I don’t think I will anytime soon.

  7. Pingback: Point Break (1991) | bakedmoviereviews

Leave a Reply

