Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)

Eternal_sunshine_of_the_spotless_mind_ver3

Genre: Sci-Fi, Drama

Cast: Jim Carrey, Kate Winslet, Kirsten Dunst

Synopsis: Following a tough break up, a man undergoes a procedure whereby his memories of his ex are deleted.

Hello everyone! I am sorry for the delay with updating the blog but I have been on holiday for the past week. I had initially intended to write posts during the holiday but I ran into problems when I accidentally dropped my laptop. After spending an insane amount of money on a new laptop, I’m ready to start writing new posts. Up first is the trippy modern-cult-classic Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.

I came into this film with high expectations. I had heard a lot of people say that this was a great film to watch stoned and, after discovering it on Netflix, I finally decided to give it a go. Despite having heard a lot about how great this film was, I actually knew very little about it. Ultimately this was a good thing because the film gave me a few pleasant surprises. I was surprised not only by the film’s lean into the sci-fi genre but also by its depth. The film provides startling insight into the nature of relationships, break ups and memories.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind has a lot of similarities to (500) Days of Summer in that both films explore hindsight and how it applies to former relationships. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, however, is more complex and thought provoking because of its sci-fi nature, even though both films resonate with audiences because everyone has had a painful break up at some point. Like most good sci-fi films, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind takes a remarkably fantastical concept in science and examines the impact that scientific development would have on everyday life and everyday situations in order to reveal more about our humanity and the human condition. If the technology existed so that we could delete bad memories would we use it and what would be the consequences? What would we lose…besides our memories, obviously. Thinking about themes like these when high is a lot of fun and it definitely adds to the experience but it can also be distracting and it certainly makes the plot harder to follow.

If I had to list one other thing I had a problem with it was with Kate Winslet’s character. It’s not that I disliked her it’s just that I didn’t really understand who she was. Was she some junkie ho? At some points she came across as a total addict and I wasn’t sure if that was part of her character or if I was just being judgmental. Perhaps my confusion stems from the fact that the movie progresses in a nonlinear fashion so it’s harder to form a complete picture of who the characters are and their history. In fact, now that I come to think of it, the nonlinear narrative makes it harder to gain a full understanding of the film itself. Although I would like to think I understood all of the film, I’m pretty sure that I didn’t. In fact, I’m not really sure what happened in the end so I may need to watch this film again but with a clear mind…my plans for tonight are sorted then.

High-lights

  • Although she didn’t receive a whole lot of screen time, Kirsten Dunst really shone in this movie. Stoned Kirsten Dunst would be fun to hang out with. “Those eye-drops didn’t do shit!”
  • It’s my fantasy to get stoned and dance around in my underwear with Mark Ruffalo.
  • “How happy is the blameless vestal’s lot! The world forgetting, by the world forgot. Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind! Each pray’r accepted, and each wish resign’d.” So beautiful.
  • Nice cinematography and unique art direction. It’s all rather disorientating.

Downers:

  • Jim Carrey as a baby is terrifying…and he’s not as delicious as JGL.
  • Aaaahh creepy Elijah Wood!

Summary:

I’m glad that I watched this movie high but I think I now need to see it sober. The movie is so disorientating and cerebral that it’s easy to lose track of what’s going on. Nevertheless, if you’re going to watch this movie high then a sativa is definitely required as it will help you appreciate all the trippy and beautiful shit that’s going on. Just make sure that you pay attention to everything that’s going on or else you will get hopelessly lost.

9/10

5 Comments

Filed under Drama, Great, Sci-Fi

5 responses to “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)

  1. This is my favorite non-horror film ever. I’m not sure if I’ve seen it high, though.

  2. Tom

    I thought this movie was excellent, and Jim Carrey shows a side that is fully worth a lot more recognition if you ask me. He’s so good here. I’d agree with you on the confusion about Winslet’s character as she’s a bit of an oddball and I never got a good read on her. I guess just part of the Terrance Malick-esque quirk about this film. Good review

  3. Pingback: Robot and Frank (2012) | bakedmoviereviews

Leave a Reply

