The Devil Wears Prada (2006)

Genre: Comedy, Drama

Cast: Anne Hathaway, Meryl Streep, Emily Blunt, Stanley Tucci

Synopsis: A young and sloppy college grad comes to NYC to follow her dreams but ends up at a fashion magazine where she learn the ins and outs of the fashion industry and how hilarious and desirable anorexia can be.

I had a bit of a college/sorority girl movie session last weekend with The Bodyguard and now this. I decided to watch The Devil Wears Prada because, in a lot of ways, it is a chronicle of my life but in a much more stylish and plastic and shallow kind of way. For those of you who don’t know, I work in journalism and publishing so I can kind of relate to what’s going on but this film but a lot of the time this film really is just a pony for the fashion industry. That’s not necessarily a bad thing. The clothes look great and everything but I remember the book was a lot more like “AAAAHHH FUCK I HATE MY JOB AND MY ROOMMATE’S AN ALCOHOLIC AAAAAAHH!!!” The film adaptation kind of got rid of that aspect of the novel and went for a more conservative approach.

As plastic as the movie is, it’s still reasonably enjoyable thanks to some great performances from Streep, Blunt and Tucci. Hathaway was good for the most part but the only times she was able to stand alongside Streep was when she was playing ‘desperation.’ As an actress she pulls that ‘desperate’ feel quite well. Not sure if that’s a compliment or not but it won her the Oscar for Les Miserables so it is what it is. I wonder why so many people dislike her. Maybe it’s because she plays all these rolls where she’s the gross normal girl who becomes a beautiful social butterfly and that rarely happens because in real life you don’t come in one day with a clear face looking all Cover Girl. Jeez, with the amount of sleep I get it’s a miracle I don’t come in looking like Lindsay Lohan after an all-night bender.

All in all, this is a movie for girls who sit in their bedroom and dream of living in the big city late at night. The Devil Wears Prada’s message is essentially this: “Yes, that’s right little girl, you too can come to the city and look like a model but first get rid of the baby fat and the hipster boyfriend and wave goodbye to your social life.” Still, the does have some useful advice, namely that you have to put your career first if you want to succeed in what you do. That’s why it’s so important to find what it is you want to do so the pressure and hard work don’t drive you insane. I’m trying to figure out what it is I want to do at the moment so this movie was an appropriate watch in a lot of ways. Oh well, thanks to this film I at least know that I don’t want to be anorexic and wear flouncy dresses in the middle of Paris. Just as well because I was seriously contemplating that kind of ridiculous lifestyle recently as I am sure most people do.

High-lights:

  • Fashion Industry 101 from Meryl was kind of awesome.
  • Meryl is the shit!
  • The scene where Hathaway has to choose between her boyfriend and her job was actually really good. I’ve felt that strain sometimes. I didn’t judge her for picking her job.
  • I want some of these clothes really badly. I want to walk down the street in London and look fashionable. I think that’s something that’s actually quite British. We like to look good.

Downers:

  • “Well done on getting into a size 4.” “I know right!? I did it by developing an eating disorder HAHAHAHAHA!” “Cheers!” *clink go the champagne glasses.
  • Let’s look at all these fabulous clothes on all these hot girls! OK, I get it.
  • She’s there for only 5 days or so and suddenly she’s the next hot thing in the publishing industry. Bitch.

Summary:

There are definitely worse ways you can spend a couple of hours. Don’t expect the movie to be anything hard hitting or revolutionary. It’s just commercial fodder but that can be fun from time to time. If you have low self-esteem though then maybe give the movie a miss because it might just make you feel bad about yourself. But you can always buy pretty things to make you feel better and all for the low price a few thousand dollars….back to the charity store it is for me then.

6/10

11 Comments

Filed under Comedy, Drama, Good

11 responses to “The Devil Wears Prada (2006)

  1. It is definitely hundred times better than “Sex and the city”, I think I enjoy watching it because of soundtracks and clothing…Good review 🙂

  2. Love this! Its one of my fave chick flicks. Meryl Streep, Anne Hathaway, Emily Blunt, Stanley Tucci and Simon Baker makes for an awesome cast 🙂 Its just simple and fashionable fun 🙂
    Great review!

  3. Agree, agree, agree! In the book she’s there for 9 months, BUT STILL. NINE MONTHS DOES NOT MAKE YOU A PUBLISHING GODDESS!

    Love the reveiw!

    • Damn it! I’m 6 months into my job and I was hoping in three months time I could usurp Anna Wintour’s job and beautiful lifestyle and apartment. How long will it take now!? 12 months???

  4. Like Twilight and The Fast and the Furious (opposite extremes, I know), I feel like Devil Wears Prada has a pretty clear target audience, of which I’m not a part of.

    • Yeah it definitely has a specific audience. You should give the book a go though as that’s a lot more accessible because it focuses more on how terrible her job is and how she alienates her friends. It’s nowhere near as chick-flicky.

  5. This movie bothered me because the message I got from it was that ultimately you have to choose between your relationships and your job. I wasn’t a fan of the decision she made at the end because I felt it sent the wrong message. That said, I adore Meryl Streep, so there are upsides and down.

  6. Good review. 🙂 I actually didn’t mind this. As far as girly shit goes…

  7. Yeah, I’d probably give it the same rating as you haha.
    Blunt and Streep were fantastic though.

Leave a Reply

